Awed and Amazed

Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, "Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?" And I said, "Here am I. Send me!!"

Home for the Homeless June 12, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — mafuller @ 1:02 AM

This blog was written on Sunday, but with circumstances (like studying for boards all week) I didn’t get around to start my blog until now. So enjoy!

During my time with God today, I read through chapter 12 in Hebrews. The chapter starts out simply, we are sinners and we need to throw off our sin and set our eyes on Jesus and place our feet on the path so we may follow Jesus’ perfect example. “….Let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.” Back in November, I chose the second half of this verse as my inspiration for my cousin Craig’s graduation quilt. At the time I didn’t really put much thought into the reasons I chose this quote for him other than it seemed very fitting for the obstacles he has already overcome and the new ones he will have after graduating from high school.

 In high school, Craig participated in many sports, but hurdles were one of his favorites. He liked to run, but I am sure he loved the adrenaline rush and sense of accomplishment as he finished the race in a record time without tripping over a hurdle. I am no runner by any means, but put a hurdle in my way, HA! I would not be able to do so, I remember in fifth grade when we had to jump hurdles in PE…. needless to say I was horrible. 🙂 It is a great accomplishment to not only clear each hurdle, but finishing the race in first with a record time. I merely embroidered this verse on a square as my piece of advice for Craig as he goes “into the world.”  “….Let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us,” is so applicable not only for Craig as he starts a new journey with college in the fall, but it is where I am in my own walk with God.

 God has done a LOT in my own heart and life in the last couple of months. There are many moment of praise and many moments of why is this happening to me? But through it all, God has been faithful. His faithfulness has blown me away. I have had a few significant life altering changes in May that have continued into June. Graduating was a huge accomplishment and praise the Lord for that moment, but it hasn’t been without its bumps. One of these bumps has been the process of returning to live with my parents. It was hard for me to just pack up and leave Lincoln, only to return home. I had a life there complete with friends and it was feeling like home to me. I love my family and missed them bunches while I was away, but moving home always has those wonderful implications. Being 26 and moving back into my parent’s home has brought challenges that have made me reflect on well where do I go from here?

 I know God has an amazing plan for me as a PA. When I began this adventure I knew I would not live as close to home as my parents or grandparents would be happy with. I thought I would be moving to the Twin Cities area, I have always loved the beauty of Minnesota, love winter, and it offers a lot of outdoor activities I enjoy. I completed my OB/GYN rotation up there and can safely say God said NO, you are not to live in MN. I then began the applying for jobs process and proceeded to only apply in Iowa. I didn’t have the response I expected. Sometime in March I heard a small voice that said look in Nebraska. I have a tendency to not listen to those little voices and when I do that they get louder…

 As I left Lincoln, my roommate Rebekah stated “When you move back to Lincoln….” I sort of laughed it off. I really didn’t put much stake in her comment. The three weeks since graduation, I have been praying hard for God to provide a job in the area that He needed me most. My heart has been uneasy and not satisfied since graduation, I felt uneasy and not where God intended. I prayed for the patience to hear His voice, telling me where I was going to end up. It is funny the different ways God gets your attention and answers you. Monday I was out on a walk and I knew God was right there with me. He said “wait patiently and listen carefully. I have heard your heart, I have great plans, I am here.” I was silenced and just said ok. Wednesday I made the trek back to Lincoln to help my roommate and former classmate Anna celebrate graduating and her passing our certification boards. The moment I crossed the Missouri River into Omaha, I had an immediate sense of peace.

Words can’t describe a feeling like that. God speaks in so many ways and I heard him clearly. Nebraska has come to be my home and I fully intend to listen to God. “….Let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.” I am stilled weighed down and entangled, but having a home, a place God is calling me to be has been lifted. I finally feel like I am once again at that starting line, ready, eager, giddy to start this race and let the rest that entangles to be thrown away so that I can run after Jesus’ will.

 

2 Responses to “Home for the Homeless”

  1. flippedinsideout Says:

    MarBear!! Welcome to wordpress! You picked a good one! 😉

    This is very well written. I love you and I am very excited that you are moving back to NE! =)

  2. bekahcubed Says:

    Keep listening to the voice of God–wherever He leads you is the best possible place to be!

    I’m glad you’re blogging–that means I’ll have just one more way to stay in contact with you until you move back! ;-P


Leave a Reply

