Awed and Amazed

Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, "Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?" And I said, "Here am I. Send me!!"

The Interview Process June 17, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — mafuller @ 10:56 AM

I had an interview today for a potential job….. It is interesting when you can see the writing on the wall before it begins. Of all the job interviews I have had for the many jobs I have held in the last 10 years, this one by far was the worse. There were signs this was not the place for me even before I began. First off I walk in, introduce myself to the receptionists who acted they could care less who I was and told me to sit and wait (sign 1). Then the manager walks in the door and barely says hello to me in the waiting room. He then comes out to collect me, introduces himself and proceeds to say, “I’m sorry I forgot your name…” (sign 2).  Wouldn’t you think that the office manager of all people would remember the name of the person they are interviewing for their open position?!?!? Then I am told to sit in a room and wait while the collect a few others for the interview. Quick introductions, and then right into tell us about yourself. I could tell as I was telling them about my background and passion for medicine and wanting to work in Nebraska, I could tell that they were not receptive to me and not really listening. They acted as if they had already made of their mind and that I had no chance to begin with. It also seemed the minute I said “Union College” the final nail was in the coffin. They asked your typical questions about my rotations, exposure to procedures, do I have a license yet, are your certified, etc. The the question of pay came up and I gave my answer based on what I have seen in job postings, but also what I have been offered in other interviews. The PA in the interview just went to town lecturing me on “you’re a new grad, asking for that kind of pay and not seeing the amount of patients we see is taking money away from us. Your first 2 years out of school is like an apprenticeship…… My experience is new grads don’t stay in their first job for more than 2 years, why should we pay someone that salary if they aren’t going to be with us for a period of time…..” That did it, in and out in 3o minutes.

My suggestion to those interviewing candidates for jobs…. regardless if you already have a candidate in mind or just starting to look for one, be friendly, open, and charasmatic. Yes I know you need to be choosy with whom you employ, but always make them feel welcomed. You get more flies with honey than vinegar. You are selling yourself and the compnay you work for just as much as the candidate is selling themselves to work for you.

Needless to say, I will not have a job in that clinic in the near future. I thank God for that because it is not an environment I want to be subjected to for 8+ hours a day, 40 hours a week. God sees the big picture and is revealing to me in pieces what he desires for me. So back to the job hunt, I will find the job God desires me to have in the area He wants me to live. On my drive in I was listening to KGBI, a Christian station where artist Aaron Shust and the verse he left the listeners with the verse Proverbs 21:31 Do your best, prepare for the worst—  then trust God to bring victory (translation is The Message). It made an impression and seems to go along with what I have been reading and reflecting Hebrews 12. So lets rock and roll, I am prepared and trust in God.

 

2 Responses to “The Interview Process”

  1. bekahcubed Says:

    Wow. That sounds…excruciating.

    Apparently they aren’t really interested in filling their position. ‘Cause I can’t see why anyone would interview so awfully.

  2. flippedinsideout Says:

    That is horrible!
    Well, at least through this process you are discovering the things you DON’T want, and how NOT to do things. 🙂
    Way to keep your eyes on Jesus, and keep your confidence that He has good plans for you – cuz He totally does!


Leave a Reply

