Awed and Amazed

Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, "Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?" And I said, "Here am I. Send me!!"

Sitting in the Back Pew at Church July 13, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — mafuller @ 11:53 AM

This isn’t the blog I have been working on, but this has been on my heart since church yesterday. The blog I am still working on will hopefully be up this week.

Yesterday I remembered the reasons why I don’t like to sit in the back pew at church. This past Sunday was the first time I have been back to the home church since graduating. There is no excuse for my tardiness every week, although I would like to blame it on certain aspects, reasons. Dad is an usher for the month so I sat in the second to last pew so that I could sit with him. It was our church’s own rendition of a mission Sunday and I was interested to see what they have done to make mission work more prevelant in our congregation.

 I had forgotten how distracting it is for me to sit back there. I found myself looking at the other congregation members, wondering what they were up to, why certain people sit together for numerous reasons, etc. Then I found myself not listening and wondering why we were singing most of our hymnals out of a book I haven’t sang from since I attended Wartburg. Not good to have ADD while at church….

Those distracting thoughts were easy enough to free from my mind, but watching people leave before the service was over is still with me. Our church is in a very small farming community and 99% of the members are somehow involved with the farming life. 90% of our active congregation are 50yrs or older. Our service is about an hour long and our congregation likes to keep it there. We had some interesting mission work reports and we ran over. At 15 minutes past that hour mark, members started to leave. All that was remaining of the service was offering, closing prayers and the final hymn, it just didn’t sit well with me. I can’t begin nor want to begin to judge if they had other plans or where their heart is, is worship and fellowship supposed to be boxed with a pretty bow in an hour? That is the perception I was left with and I still don’t like it.

In school, I had to sit in the back row. At the movies, I like to sit towards the back of the theater. At plays/musicals/school concerts I like to sit more towards the middle/back for a better view. In an airplane I like to sit towards the back of the plane. As a kid I had to sit towards the back of the school bus. Church is the only place I desire to be in the front row. I am free of the distractions and can solely focus myself and my heart for the purpose I am at church: to worship, praise, glorify and learn about my God. So needless to say, next Sunday I will be back in the front of our church in the pew my family normally sits in, no more distractions, I am there for my God.

 

Leave a Reply

