Awed and Amazed

Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, "Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?" And I said, "Here am I. Send me!!"

The Old Has Gone, The New Has Come February 8, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — mafuller @ 10:20 AM

It’s been 2 months since my last post…. wow. I didn’t realize how busy and unmotivated I have been. Maybe all this winter weather has finally gotten to me…. It has been one heck of a winter. Who would have thought that it would be tough. Not only did I move here 7 months ago, I have dealt with so much I am SOOO glad I am not a home owner and just a renter. It started this fall with my key breaking off in the lock. Relatively small, but none the less an inconvenience. Then winter came with the first snow on Oct 10th. I was excited to see the snow since winter is my favorite time of year. Then snow and more snow came. Atlantic hit the record in December with 25+ inches of snow. That storm there was NO way my little 4 door was getting out of the drive. I also learned very quickly with 4 hills to climb to work Gus just wasn’t going to cut it and Gus went to a new home  (my car). Then Atlantic hit another record for the winter in January, 40 below. That weekend I was going to Lincoln to hang with the crew, which changed quickly when I woke up with no water. Yep you guessed my water pipes froze. And to add to the fun of that weekend my landlord was in Minnesota and I was the only tenant. Then the end of January brought the dreaded ice storm. Yep tree above my building fell and dislodged our power meter from the side of the building. It was really cool to watch the transformer blow up though.

But despite it all I have made it through, a few inconveniences, some major, but perseverance is the word. I had somewhat of a wake up call/ it is time to make a change in January. After saying I was going to start working out I finally have made that change. I don’t what really made it finally time to do so, but I have begun and am loving it. I am still getting used to getting up at 530 in the morning to go tread water at the Y, but when I get there and get going, it is the best way to start the day. I have learned my foot still detests any vigorous walking (darn plantar faciitis) but water is ok. I am starting my 3rd week and I am up to 6 days a week. I have lost 4 pounds which is super exciting for me. The old me has gone, a new one is starting to unfold. Maybe it has been the tough winter that has led to this change, maybe I need something to get me through the end of this winter. Whatever it was that really pushed me to start I am thankful. The most important however to keep me motivated to reach my goal is my friends who encourage me everyday (thanks Deb) and God’s perseverance he has given me. I know that only he will be able to sustain me when I feel like I am making no progress and those mornings I find uber hard to get up.  And he will also get me through the rest of this winter, my favorite time of the year, but I am ready for the greens of spring. 🙂

  So from now on we regard no one from a worldly point of view. Though we once regarded Christ in this way, we do so no longer. Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come! All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation: that God was reconciling the world to himself in Christ, not counting men’s sins against them. And he has committed to us the message of reconciliation. We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us. We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God. God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.                                                  

 2 Corinthians 5:16-21

I can do everything through him who gives me strength. Phillipians 4:13

 

2 Responses to “The Old Has Gone, The New Has Come”

  1. Gracie Says:

    Wow, you have a pretty awesome attitude about all this. If it had happened to me, I would be depressed and down in the dumps and all my life sucks. So kudos to you for being awesome and having a good attitude about this.

    ^_^ ❤ love you! ❤ ^_^

  2. mafuller Says:

    Thanks, Spacie. :0) I learned a long time ago that is isn’t the bad things that happen, but your reaction to them is what truely counts. And the only way to look at all the mishaps this winter is that God is much bigger and this is just potatoes in comparison. If anything I am learning valuable lessons for the day I will own my own home and have to be the one forking over the money for all the repairs and having the knowledge on how to fix it! :0)


Leave a Reply

